Indian culture insight - Reisverslag uit New Delhi, India van tonyinindia - WaarBenJij.nu Indian culture insight - Reisverslag uit New Delhi, India van tonyinindia - WaarBenJij.nu

Indian culture insight

Door: Tony

Blijf op de hoogte en volg

27 September 2008 | India, New Delhi

Saturday afternoon, two pm. Through the opened balcony doors bright rays of sunlight enter the room. On the table where I sit at about four laptops have been placed, along with a wide variety of empty cups, bottles, electronically devices, wires, phones and a plate with a gradually declining quantity of food which at this moment is nourished by one of my Brazilian housemates. The one-spoon sample I got to taste still leaves traces in my mouth of the highly divined cuisine the food originates from; with the most simple ingredients the female co inhabitants of my flat realize the most royal dishes. This morning I have visited two temples in Delhi, among which the famous Lotus temple, which would not be worth the effort of visiting it if it were not this close by. For this evening the birthday party of the girlfriend of Wojtek, one of my flat mates and people I hang out with most, is scheduled in our apartment and tomorrow morning at six o’clock a taxi bus will pick us up for a trip to the Taj Mahal and related issues in Agra. In between I have scheduled a Skype conversation with a friend of mine who currently resides in Colombia, which obliges me to converse in the most ridicule of hours. Other trips planned in the near future are to Varanasi (by plane) and the Himalayas (one week by bus). I am really eager to get out of Delhi and see other parts of Northern India, and although I don’t expect that much of the Taj it will be a welcome change from ‘working’ life in Delhi.

One of the highlights of the past weeks has taken place last night, when my Indian neighbour gave me a call to invite me to this typical Indian dance festival. He thought it would be cool for us trainees to get some insight in Indian culture, and though the party was only accessible on invitation he had arranged free passage for me and some friends. So there we went, fully dressed in Indian traditional clothing that he had borrowed from a friend, off to the party. In the big garden of some five star hotel a giant dance floor was erected where a wide variety of Indian people were dancing and singing whilst tapping two sticks on the rhythm of the music. Occasions like these give you the unique insight in Indian culture, and if it was not for the contacts I get to initiate with natives around here I would never have the chance to see those.

More impressive and even more insightful to the real India was the invitation of two of my students, two girls of respectively sixteen and twenty years old. I was asked to join them after class to their family house, located deep in the slum area. The journey took me from the regular route to and from the metro station, via the smallest paths and along open sewers, to the lower part of a house erected from bricks and wood. The welcome by the family was hospital and genuine, I got to sit on the only chair in the house, was offered various drinks and kinds of food, and got to look at the photo album with family pictures. All of this took place in one of the small rooms of the house, where a single two person bed was put, along with a fridge, a huge fan, and some shelves on which various picture frames and coconuts were stored. Surrounding me on the floor were the five, six (?) children of the family, various other related kin, and two puppies.
With a bit of imagination one could place himself back in history, if it were not for the old and shaggy television on top of the fridge and the mobile phones each family member possesses. The street life is vibrating, I saw nigh only smiling faces, people working in small businesses, children playing on the streets, some people playing cards in front of a tea shop.. a slum area is a society on its own. I get a more and better insight in the lives of ordinary people here, and I hope that the coming weeks will offer me more opportunities like these.

Time passes quickly here in Delhi, which holds for weeks but also for hours and minutes. My promise to prepare a warm lunch for some of my flat mates here obliges me to quit writing and start preparing some food. The simple recipe will consist of rice mixed with fried vegetables and some ‘meat’. New stories can be expected soon after my journey(s)!

Thank you all for the responses, from abroad and the Netherlands, on my website and beyond, and I hope this message reaches all of you in good health!

A warm hug from warm Delhi,

Tony

Ps..

@ Esther: jaa jammer dat ik niet kan komen! Moeten we echt ff inhalen als ik terugben :D Hoe is Esn life in tilburg? Heb heeeel veel plezier op je feestje!

@ Knuffelpad: hoe is het pad? Kun je me een update of gildebroeder life geven? :)

@ Lana: thanks for reading and replying to my stories this frequently!! Really appreciate it :) How’s life in croatia? Any journeys ahead?

@ Mariel: Ook wat nederlandse woorden voor jou ;) Waar is je reactie?? :P


  • 27 September 2008 - 15:00

    Pappie:

    Geweldig dat je zo'n dingen kunt zien en meemaken. Lijkt me geweldig.Ben wel een beetje jaloers. Geniet er van en tot gauw op skype. Groeten vanuit Oerle

  • 27 September 2008 - 15:11

    Mariëlle:

    Heee:D
    Jaaaaa, Nederlandse woorden voor mij, superlief! En voor jou de reactie natuurlijk, als eerste zelfs!
    Je hebt weer leuk beschreven hoe het daar gaat. En het was heel fijn om je even op msn te spreken!:)
    Heb je trouwens ook (dansende) foto's van jezelf in die outfit? Ik ben erg benieuwd;)
    Heel veel plezier met je reisjes!!
    Dikke kus!

  • 27 September 2008 - 15:12

    Mariëlle:

    How, ik had iets sneller moeten plaatsen;) Nou ja als tweede dan:)

  • 29 September 2008 - 03:11

    Norreknor:

    hehe eindelijk weer een verhaal! gelukkig niet de lengte die we gewenst zijn, aangezien ik net terug ben van mn montreal weekend, en dus redelijk dood ben, maar in de top 10 van bezigheden staat natuurlijk je verhaal lezen;)! ik weet alleen niet wat ik me er morgen nog van zal herinneren :P
    Ben benieuwd hoe de taj mahal was!
    Ik spreek je snel weer, hele dikke kus van vermoeide en snipverkouden norre(knor)

  • 29 September 2008 - 07:41

    Koen :

    hey Teun!
    Klinkt goed allemaal man! Ben benieuwd of het Nederlandse eten je nog smaakt wanneer je terug bent ;)
    We moeten ook snel een keer skypen, ik spreek je echt veel te weinig zo! Groeten

  • 29 September 2008 - 07:55

    Knuffelpad:

    Hey skat!! eindelijk een normaal formaat verhaal hihihi.. wat gaaf dat je zo "the real life" daar leert kennen.. hier is het wel relaxt maar gaat z'n gangetje.. ik ben erg druk bezig met school dus ik ben best weinig thuis te vinden.. maar op een korte update te geven: beneden 2 drukke vrijgezelle meiden, verdieping 1: Jel & Gos, Koen & inge.. een grote bende:P en de bovenste verdieping: Viv & Ak (een bende opzich) en Ilse onze gezellige nieuwe die zich lekker thuis begint te voelen denk ik althans want zie haar nooit zo vaak... verder mis ik nog steeds mijn eet buddy hahaha:D we moeten maar een keer msnen.. spreken we af! en dan kan je me lekker maken met de curry's?? of sijn het elke dag hamburgers:P:P hahaha

    dikke koes!!!

  • 29 September 2008 - 14:05

    Delphine:

    Hy Tony, I really appreciate this culture look also interresting and warming...Wait to see soon trip in Hymalayas. Missing you and also warm lunch ! I send you lot of hugs.

  • 30 September 2008 - 08:30

    Stefan:

    Haha prachtig baas relaxt dat je gewoon bij die mensen wordt uitgenodigt om daar de familie te leren kennen en van allerlei eten en drinken te krijgen! En die trip naar de Himalaya moet ook echt geweldig worden, damn ik wil ook mee :-), hier in Nederland schiet het niet echt op met de mooie avonturen beleven.
    We ouwehoeren binnenkort weer ff over skype / msn!
    Veel plezier daar!

  • 30 September 2008 - 09:45

    Claudia:

    Hey Tony!

    I'm very pleased to be able to read about your adventure!

    I believe that this is a very deep experience! I'll keep visiting your blog!
    Good luck in everything and have fun in your trips.

    Huge kiss from Portugal! :)

  • 30 September 2008 - 13:05

    Joris:

    nou dat ziet er allemaal mooi uit daarzo.
    veel spas met al je reizen en succes met alle indo's.
    hallee

  • 30 September 2008 - 13:30

    Paal:

    Heyy Tony,

    Ik denk dat er iets mis is gegaan toen ik me aanmelden van je verhalen... zie dat ik er stuk of 3 verhalen achter loop :-).
    Tof om te lezen dat daar alles nog prima gaat en je volop kennis maakt met de lokale bevolking!! Ga zo door en heel veel plezier met je trips!

    Groeten

  • 01 Oktober 2008 - 05:17

    Jen:

    Hi Tony, it's a pleasure to read your blog. I'm really starting to miss the life we had as interns in Delhi. Hopefully we can continue our conversations despite the distance, I enjoyed them. :)
    Keep safe, watch your back - Delhi's getting more and more dangerous. :(

  • 01 Oktober 2008 - 08:43

    Ons:

    Man man weer zo een lang verhaal! Maar je weet nu eindelijk wat de Taj is?

    Volgende x iets korter verhaal en int Nederlands he want ik ken alleen Duits en Nederlands!

    kusjes

    ps. zijn de vrouwen daar net zo duur als dat ze oud zijn?

  • 08 Oktober 2008 - 19:17

    Olimpia:

    Hey Tony! I would have given anything to see you in traditional indian clothing :D
    It seems like you are having a great time. I think it's very cool that you got to experience at least a part of the real indian life. I'm sure you'll gave more opportunities in the future. Have lots of fun on your trips and don't forget to write all about it. I'm leaving this Saturday for Greece, hope we can talk (live) soon. :)

    P.S. I want a pic of you outjumping the Himalayas. ;)

  • 09 Oktober 2008 - 13:17

    Victoria:

    Tony!! I think I’ll express the mass public opinion if I say you got extreme lack of photos!!!
    I think every corner is worth to fix it, & it’s not even necessary to talk about you fully dressed in national Indian costume ;)

  • 09 Oktober 2008 - 13:17

    Victoria:

    Tony!! I think I’ll express the mass public opinion if I say you got extreme lack of photos!!!
    I think every corner is worth to fix it, & it’s not even necessary to talk about you fully dressed in national Indian costume ;)

  • 13 Oktober 2008 - 14:27

    Ingrid:

    ik heb dit weekend over je gedroomd. je was even terug, voor herfstvakantie ofzo. was erg leuk, alleen had je wel iets raars met je haar gedaan, van bijna kaal naar soort afro iets... verder alles goed? hier alles prima, heb alleen weinig zin in scriptie. xxx

  • 18 Oktober 2008 - 18:29

    Amanda:

    Heey Teun,

    Zo weer een lang verhaal. :P

    Leuk om weer iets van je te horen!
    En mooie foto's heb je.

    En alles goed met je?
    Ik hoor het wel weer verder ;)

    (K)
    Amanda.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: India, New Delhi

Mijn eerste reis

Recente Reisverslagen:

05 Februari 2009

update

01 December 2008

new blog

01 December 2008

new blog

14 November 2008

Crossing the Indian countryside

05 November 2008

Swimming in the Ganges

Actief sinds 28 Juni 2008
Verslag gelezen: 169
Totaal aantal bezoekers 22941

Voorgaande reizen:

28 Augustus 2008 - 30 November -0001

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: